Waiting For Love

Relationships. Ever since graduating from high-school last year, I continue to witness more and more people getting into them. It seems to be somewhat of a domino effect; one friend uploads a new relationship status on Facebook, (gains 100 likes) and within a week or so, one of their close friends shares that they too are in a relationship. Some may suggest that it’s only a coincidence, but I think it’s more than that. 

After our final exams, I found out that one of my closest friends had got herself a boyfriend. No one saw it coming, no one ever would have seen them ending up together. But they did. I was absolutely shocked when I found out as she was the type of friend who would ask people questions like, How do you know if a guy likes you? Or make statements about how she caught her crush looking at her in sport. To be quite honest, I had always thought that I would end up in a relationship before her. I feel bad for having thought that because who am I to judge? Who am I to believe that I am more ready to be in a relationship than someone else? Who am I to decide who ends up with whom? It’s really up to God isn’t it.

I’ve come to understand that God has made one special individual for each of us. God only knows when, where and how we’ll come to meet them- but he sure knows. Just because others around us race to get into relationships or legitimately find their “other-half” it doesn’t mean that we have to feel pressured or unloved just because we ourselves aren’t in them. I have a Pinterest board filled with beautiful quotes and one of my favourites reads,

“A woman’s heart should be so hidden in God that a man has to seek him just to find her”

When I realise how far behind I am in comparison to the majority of my friends, I realise that being in a relationship doesn’t make you more accomplished. I realise that it doesn’t make you a winner or in comparison a loser. I believe that regardless of what you do or where you go, if it’s God’s will, he will make it happen. Some say it’s fate, but I say it’s God.

Lamentations 3:25 The LORD is good to those who wait for him, to the soul who seeks him.

4 thoughts on “Waiting For Love

  1. I was behind all of my friends myself: I didn’t have my first boyfriend until my sophomore year of college (19 years old). I always felt the odd one out, but then when I did finally get a boyfriend he was so much ‘better’ than anyone else’s (for lack of a better word). I mean better as in it wasn’t a superficial relationship, it meant a great deal to both of us, and we took it very seriously. It lasted 3 years and ended in September, but as sad as I was/am that it’s over…I know there must be something even better in store for me. Otherwise, why would it fall apart? My sister was also a late bloomer, when I start to feel sorry for myself, she always says “look at how great our boyfriends are…quality over quantity Ty”

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You are wise to trust and wait on God. So many people rush into relationship because they don’t know how to be themselves. Without anyone else, just them and God. He really is a best friend. Like the quote !!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

