The Toxic Poison of Jealousy

Every single one of us has different talents and abilities. Some are good at music, some are good at languages, others at sport; the list goes on. But what happens when you have to share “your” talent with someone else? What happens when someone else is rewarded or acknowledged in your area of talent, and you are left feeling blindsided?

Jealousy is an emotion that many of us encounter on a regular basis, and it all begins with a small seed: Ungratefulness. When we realise that other people have talents, good looks, considerable wealth or popularity- it is very easy for us to become ungrateful for the gifts God has specifically given each one of us. We don’t look at what we have, but rather look at what we don’t. Again we see an illustration of the quote: “Comparison is the thief of joy.”

The worst thing about jealousy, is that it can ultimately grow and evolve into a form of hatred. We begin to judge the other party who has been rewarded and subconsciously we begin to hate on them. In our mind we may think: How could she have achieved such high marks- she must have cheated, Why was she selected for the lead role- I would have done a much better job! Basically we begin to justify reasons why we ourselves are better, and that’s where hatred and jealousy comes in. 

Have you ever been in a situation where you earnestly pray and ask God to give you something, yet you see someone else get exactly what you wanted whilst you are left with nothing? I was in that exact position a year ago. I had been praying hard to win the arts faculty award, and as you can imagine, I was rather hurt when I saw that one of my closest friends had received the award. Of course I was genuinely happy that she got it because I valued her as a close friend, but it did make me question myself and my artistic abilities, leaving me to feel rather blindsided. That day, my English teacher bumped into me and sensed my torn emotions- I poured my emotions out to him, and strangely enough he had some words of affirmation. He told me not to give up because God might have had something better in store for me and he told me about how his daughter had been in the same position as myself when she had applied for a music award and had not received it- luckily for her God did have something amazing in store for her- she was selected to be a part of the State’s symphony orchestra! With that, he ended by telling me to wait and pray to God- and so I did.

One year later I am so grateful to God because he actually did have something huge in store for me. Not only was I acknowledged as being the top Arts student of 2015, my artwork was selected to be displayed in the State art gallery alongside fifty-five other aspiring artists.

I realise now that God is so gracious and can bless us with more than we could ever imagine. When we feel jealous, we shouldn’t compare and run down other people’s victories- we should trust and know that God has other plans for us. 

Now unto him that is able to do exceeding abundantly above all that we ask or think, according to the power that worketh in us. ~Ephesians 3:20

I refuse to let the toxic poison of jealousy grow within me.


2 thoughts on “The Toxic Poison of Jealousy

Leave a Reply

