The Significance of Easter

Easter. It’s a seasonal holiday of which we associate with chocolate eggs and the Easter Bunny- but honestly it’s so much more than that. It was the day in which Jesus ultimately paid the price for our sins, by giving up his life so that we who believe may have eternal life some day.

I was born into a good, strong Christian family. I was taught from a young age what is right and what is wrong from a biblical perspective. I was born in a good, democratic country of which allows me to worship God freely. I am very grateful for this, yet often I find myself kind of plodding along in my faith- having no fire or zeal. It may just be that I have so much to do that I neglect God- but it could be that I have become a bit desensitised to it all. Good Friday is just around the corner, yet I feel as though it has come out of no where.

You know when you were a kid and you would be so excited for Easter? Your parents would start reading the Easter Story from the bible and buy hot cross buns to make the occasion festive and fun? I remember as a young girl having watched various bible films that exposed the grotesque and barbaric ways in which Jesus was killed and treated, but also the excitement when I saw Jesus rise from the grave. I remember I was so in love with Jesus, that when the teacher would ask us what our plans for Easter were, I would happily say I was going to church- I was genuinely excited because I would know that would be the day that Jesus rose from the dead. I suppose when you’re young, you are so innocent and excited about these things. I wish all adults had that same excitement and zeal.

But he was pierced for our transgressions, he was crushed for our iniquities; the punishment that brought us peace was on him, and by his wounds we are healed.  ~Isaiah 53:5

With Good Friday being only a couple of days away, I am hoping to read the Easter story fully. I am hoping to be totally ready and to have come to terms with it all- not forgetting what Jesus did for me. How can God- someone far greater than me, who has everything be interested and in love with a sinner like myself? 
 He was beaten, mocked and crucified because of the sinful nature of mankind. Let us not be desensitised to it all, forgetting and not really thinking about God’s goodness and grace. He ultimately paid the price for our sins so we can one day come face to face with God. 

If that isn’t love, I don’t know what is.

  

(Photographs: Pinterest)

Leave a Reply

